Scholarship funds are another type of charitable fund offered by the Fort Scott Area Community Foundation. These funds help students pay the costs of attending college.

Bourbon County Scholarship Opportunities

The Fort Scott Area Community Foundation is currently home to two scholarship opportunities for Bourbon County students, the Haberbosch Family Scholarship and the William F. Lehman American History Scholarship.

Our scholarships are offered as part of the Community Foundation of Southeast Kansas scholarship program. Applications are typically available each year between January and March.

Haberbosch Family Scholarship

The Haberbosch Family Scholarship is open to graduating seniors of Marmaton Valley High School in Moran. Two students per year are selected to receive the scholarship, which was established by Audrey Haberbosch Ellmer, a 1948 graduate of the school.

William F. Lehman American History Scholarship

The William F. Lehman American History Scholarship is open to graduates of any Bourbon County high school who is or will be attending college full-time and taking a course studying any aspect of American history. The scholarship was established by Carolyn Cooper in 2016 in memory of her father.

Establishing a Scholarship Fund

Scholarship funds are a great way for individuals, families, friends, students, teachers, or colleagues to leave a legacy or establish a memorial to impact the future of Bourbon County. And FSACF makes it easy for local residents to create new scholarship funds. Contact us today to learn more!

Image credit: Kenny Felt Photography. Used with permission.